PG and VG side effects

Status
Not open for further replies.

JuiceHound

Verified Member
Sep 6, 2012
Gainesville, FL, USA
HI. I’m new to the forum. I’ve been a forum reader for a few months but this is actually my very first post! Sorry for the long post but can’t convey my experience, leaving any of this stuff out! New vapers please note: This is only an account of my frustrations with e-liquid side affects. These health issues may only affect certain people such as myself, and my issues may be caused from me being hypersensitive. So, please don’t let any of my travails cause anyone any undue concern in their wonderful journey into vaping.

I have found many other posts about VG & PG side effects in the regular user’s forum, but I thought I’d open one up in the new members’ area and dig right in since I can post there for now. I’ve been vaping on and off since April 2012

I personally feel the materials safety data sheets favor VG as the healthier choice. Some people like myself have experienced side effects, or issues with both bases. I understand that there are a lot of factors involved, especially the quality of ingredients, etc. I’ve had rashes with PG and ........ and rashes with VG. To my knowledge, PG and VG are the only two bases available to suspend the other ingredients and produce vapor.

PG: I started breaking out in a rash, coincidently enough, that moved over my body in the almost exact pattern, etc. as when I tried using the nic patches (same silver dollar-sized rash spot opposite left elbow, etc). At first I thought I would have to give up vaping, thinking the issue was the purified nic or levels of. But after giving it another go with VG and getting a completely different type of rash, I feel it may be a combination of both; a reaction to PG and a reaction to high nic levels that I don’t get with analogs @ a pack-a-day. I’ve also heard that some flavorings contain PG as well. I also get a sore throat with PG fairly often.