Does anyone use Xylitol as a sweetener?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JPoodles

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 27, 2012
West Boylston, MA
I am new to DIY but really interested in it! I have been vaping for some time now and I'm happy to say-100% free of smoking. I have delved ito RBA's and love the tinkering and hobby aspects of vaping. It's not only been healthy for the body but for the mind as well! I've always been fascinated by chemistry and subsequently food preparation. I've worked as a chef for the last 20 years and find that alot of the e-liquids I've tried could use some tweeking. So here I am.
Enough rambling...I'm researching as much as I can before I impulse buy DIY supplies and there is one question I have. Does anyone use Xylitol as a sweetener? I've seen few posts about it through searches here and was curious as to it's developement (if any) in DIY.
Thank you to all who have visited this thread and feel free to add any suggestions.:rolleyes:

LucentShadow

ECF Veteran
Dec 28, 2011
Michigan, USA
I've never seen it sold as liquid, and would not use the powdered blends that I've seen. As long as you have a (liquid) source with no added fillers (other than PG/VG/water) or other crud, it sounds like a decent sweetener.

It's a sugar alcohol, very similar to glycerine, seems to be quite non-toxic, and approximately as sweet as sucrose. I'd be interested in hearing how well it works.

I've only used sucralose and ethyl maltol, and prefer ethyl maltol for it's added flavor. I've considered stevia, but I don't like the aftertaste of the powdered stuff that I tried for my morning coffee.

JPoodles

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 27, 2012
West Boylston, MA
Why not something a little less harsh, like sucralose (splenda) or stevia?