Status
Not open for further replies.

Mitey F

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 6, 2013
Michigan, yearning for home
I bought a Dream and an AGA-T a week or so ago, and recently tried the Dream dripper. I stuck it on my ego temporarily, until I finish my VV box mod. It came preassembled (with a wick and coil). I washed everything thoroughly as I do with all other equipment to get off any machine oil etc. before use.

Here's the thing. It tastes (MODERATED) NASTY. I've tried breaking it in with some juice I don't particularly care for, just taking a pull and not inhaling to see if that helps. It hasn't. It's to the point now where I don't even want to try and break it in any further, because it tastes so horrid. Do I just have to struggle through some more of this before it starts to work, or am I doing something completely wrong?

Last edited by a moderator:

jaco944

Feb 13, 2011
Ky
First off I'm far from an expert but I had the same problem. After I rebuilt and started using cotton yarn as a wick I finally got a set up that tastes and vapes great. I think there are a lot of variables (wick size/material, coil ect).
One other thing I noticed was the 1st coil was sitting too close to the plastic ring around where the screws are and had melted that plastic a little. That may be the source of your (MODERATED) taste.
Also if you're using cotton as a wick, once it tastes nasty or burnt it's probably been dry burned and should be replaced.
I'm not completely sold on RBA's but when they work right they are awesome.
Good luck

Last edited by a moderator:

Mitey F

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 6, 2013
These are my first 2 RBA's, and I have never built a wick/coil before. This is just the setup that came pre-assembled in the Dream, so I figured I'd try it that way first. I know it's wicking, because it produces great vapor. The vapor is just nasty :)

Jaco, I'm not sure what plastic you're talking about, the Dream is all stainless, save the o-ring.