Top Coil vs Bottom Coil Atomizers/Clearomizers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sheila Michele 1971

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
I have several clearomizers, all top coil ?? Most are Vision or Stardust, and a couple have long wicks. All but 4 are small ( 1.6 ml) The larger ones hold 2.0 ml.

Im seeing a bunch of bottom coil clearos and want to know if for those that use them, have replaced their top coils and what is the benefits.

We have taken all our clearos apart for cleaning, so we arent complete total newbs here....LOL

Thayamax

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 7, 2013
Southeast Michigan
I started off with a Vivi Nova and a T3. I much prefer the bottom coil clearomizers. The T3 is an airy draw (which I don't mind) but can be made tighter by plugging up 1 or 2 of the holes in the base by inserting a toothpick and breaking it off. I much prefer the Evods which don't hiss or gurgle like a T3 sometimes does. The Evod heads are also cheaper to replace.

The bottom coil clearomizers provide a cooler vape compared to the warm vape from a top coil. Again, I prefer that but others may not. The bottom coils are also easier to fill and clean IMHO. So far I've never had one leak on me, even after cleaning.

rotku

Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Sep 4, 2012
columbus, oh
The bottom coil devices and rebuildables are very popular right now. The majority of complaints on the bottom feeders is gurgling and leakage. I have used both types. For me, I tend to like a warmer vape so I lean toward the top coil Kanger T-2's. Since I vape with the device horizontal I do not get dry hits. That said, I will certainly try the Protank because I have seen many positive reviews.

Blurgas

ECF Veteran
Sep 6, 2012
I'd bought a Mini Nova and a Kanger T3 at the same time because each had sizable fanbases
For the first week they were about equal in flavor/vapor/etc, but after that week the T3 started leaking on me, gurgling and just generally being a pain to use