8 hours for first battery charge?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JKBonin

Moved On
Jan 4, 2010
NH
I totally disagree. I have a used 510 batt that was given to me when I bought my 510s. That 1 batt lasts me 4.5-5.5hrs. Lasts my wife 8-9hrs. I mistakenly interrupted the 1st chg on my 2 new batts, and can't get more than 1.5hrs out of them to save my soul.

The 1st chrg is ultra important for batt. length. Proper chrg on a new batt is:

chrg for 8hrs.
vape for 20 mins.
chrg for 1 additional hr.

After that, chrg 4-5hrs for optimum performance.

Never plug chgr in with a batt screwed in.

I am living with proof that this method works. I get the theory Ni-cad batts have no memory. IMHO, that's simply not true. And as I say, I'm living with the proof.

I'm a noob, but was taught this by my VERY non-noob supplier. So there you go. Pick one. :p

JKBonin

Moved On
Jan 4, 2010
NH
<------- NOT a batt expert. I am however, living with a 510 batt that runs 5-8hrs with my wife or myself using it. My 510 that I just got new, I didn't follow his instructions and now have 2 510 batts that die after 1.5 - 2hrs. Same batt, but different chrg techniques. Soon as I get paid I'ma buying my azz an SB and forgetting all this batt changing bs.

That link was very well written and I agree it's hard to argue with it. Seems quite sound thinking to me. Then again, I'm in sales, not science. So go figure. Just the fact I get a potential 8hrs out of a std 510 batt makes me think for a few xtra hrs, it may very well be worth the wait.

We'll see. We'll just hafta see.

scrooby

ECF Veteran
Sep 18, 2009
Florida, United States
I totally disagree. I have a used 510 batt that was given to me when I bought my 510s. That 1 batt lasts me 4.5-5.5hrs. Lasts my wife 8-9hrs. I mistakenly interrupted the 1st chg on my 2 new batts, and can't get more than 1.5hrs out of them to save my soul.

The 1st chrg is ultra important for batt. length. Proper chrg on a new batt is:

chrg for 8hrs.