18500 battery and sub ohm question...

Status
Not open for further replies.

rdarsa

Dec 29, 2014
London
Hi,

I have been vaping for about 4 years now and have decided to give sub ohming a go for 2015.

I have a mechanical mod that can take any size 18000 battery.

I would like to try the Aspire sub tank at .5 ohms and the size of battery I would like to try is an 18500 battery.

Would it be safe to use the eFest 18500 15amp battery for this application?

I see the purple ones ones on ebay and wondered if I risk blowing myself up on the first attempt. :unsure:

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance for any info you can give.

Regards,

Richard.

EBates

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Nov 4, 2013
Texas
Hi,

I have been vaping for about 4 years now and have decided to give sub ohming a go for 2015.

I would like to try the Aspire sub tank at .5 ohms and the size of battery I would like to try is an 18500 battery.

I see the purple ones ones on ebay and wondered if I risk blowing myself up on the first attempt. :unsure:

Regards,

Richard.

Welcome aboard
using a .5 ohm atty and a fully charged battery would draw about 8.5 amps. So the Efests should be good, just be beware of counterfits since you are shopping on ebay

qorax

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 6, 2013
Brampton, Canada
www.facebook.com
Hi,

Regards,

Richard.

1. Unless you are using one of those 'trust to catch fire' batts and/or using crappy un-ventable clones, or have no clue about Ohm's law 'blowing up' might be the most exaggerated heresy in our journey.

2. With sub-Ohming it is wiser to stick to 18650 (or higher) batts, rather than 18500s. And get on the HE2 / VTCs / 20R bandwagon.

3. Btw I've successfully / safely used 0.5Ω builds with my 18500 Purple Efests. But wouldn't try going lower.

k46noz.jpg

drunkenbatman

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 26, 2014
It's windy, USA