Am I one of the only new 801 users?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChuckB

ECF Veteran
Apr 1, 2010
Uvalde, Texas
I'm beginning to think that I made a mistake wanting to try out the 801 pen style. I read a little bit (it's far and sparse) on the forums that people love their pen styles, and I have seen mods (Janty box) that are 801 based, but finding just basic help on getting started with one just isn't there. It seems that the KR808 and Joye 510 have pushed everything else out of the picture.

I'm not a new vaper, I've been vaping for 6 months and am very happy with my L88B and 510 models and don't really need another device, but I want to expand my horizons. I have already purchased this device and now I want to get the most out of it.

The problem I'm having is with wicking. When I first fill a cart it wicks great for the first dozen puffs or so and then falls off. I've tried the factory polyfill, blue foam, and Fluval filter foam (not the cleaning pads as they aren't available here). With the size of the cart I'm sure that its an issue of fine tuning the filler and all of the above should work. I did get some advice in one forum to use the Fluval cleaning pads, but no hints beyond that. I do very much appreciate that bit of information, but I need actual information on how you use Fluval or blue foam or poly fill or xxxxxx. I've not found anything about what size of plug to use for the HighPing mod, or how to cut the blue foam or Fluval.

I've messed around with different cart mods for this thing for three weeks and nothing is working consistently. I know that someone out there has one working, knows what they have their carts stuffed with, and can read a ruler. I'd like to know what filler they are using and the size of that filler, and use that as a starting point to get this working for me. Sorry if that sounded pushy, but if I was asking the same question about a 510, there are dozens of links with dimensions and pictures and videos showing how.