Any RM2 fans feeling charitable? Wanna help a newb get set up?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using cartos on my Reo Grand since I bought it in October, but I want to try an rba. I bought an RM2 because I don't have a LP Grand. It is en route to me.

I also bought some readyxwick because I hate touching cotton (don't ask) and someone said it was very low-maintenance and easy to use in the forums here. I got 3mm.

I also bought some Kanthal wire (28g and 30g) from Rob's shop.

I have never done any of this before and the more I read, the more confused I become regarding the electrical components and their safety.

What do I need for a mount? What do I need for an ohm meter, or a cartometer (what do these things mean)? What is an ideal reading, and an ideal wrap? Any suggestions for helping me get set up would be great. Thank you.

Format

ECF Veteran
Jun 24, 2009
UK
I too started on carto's and have since seen the good side of making your own and saving massive amounts on what you could achieve from using your own build.

See the brilliant UTubes by superx and you will not look back and will save a lot more on $ or £ on building your own and they last for months not weeks.

ckquatt

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 8, 2013
Milledgeville, GA
It looks like he has an active thread about this, thank you for the advice! I don't want to blow up my pretty face.... but I do want to stop using cartos. ;)
Yep! You can do that too! Hrs got his vids there as well!

As far as an ohm checker, they are essential for coil building. I got mine on ebay, but most online vendors carry them.

Digital Ohm Meter Resistance Reader Voltage Tester 510 Atomizer | eBay

I would search Baditudes battery blogs here as well. Hes our battery guru! They'll tell you all you need to know about battery safety.

People will tell you differently but I suggest AW batteries for the Reo if you're not going to sub ohm. I love them and they work great!