Battery arcing

Status
Not open for further replies.

redeyedancer

Unregistered Supplier
ECF Veteran
Feb 4, 2010
Maine
Every mechanical mod arcs. The only difference is with a REO, you can see it.
If you're not keeping your positive contact and your batteries clean, your mod will eventually start to misfire .

I am not a electrical engineer. These are things I have learned over time. Every time your positive contact breaks connection with your battery, it arcs. This leaves black spots on your battery and on your positive contact. In mild cases you can't even see it. If you're not cleaning your contacts, the black marks build up to a point the positive contact isn't making a good connection with your battery. Picture two plates of glass stacked one on top of the other. Sprinkle sand on top of one plate of glass and try stacking the other on top of it. The plates of glass wont lie flat on each other the sand keeps them from doing this . The sand acts just like the black spots on your battery and positive contact.

A white pen eraser works great on contacts. There is enough abrasion there to remove any residue without damaging your contacts. Do this to your positive contact and the top of your batteries followed by a Q-tip with alcohol . Apply Noalox or Deoxit to your positive contact. I never run my mod without using Noalox or Deoxit and I never have problems. Because I never run my mod without Noalox or Deoxit I have never had to clean my contacts with anything more then a Q-tip with some alcohol.

The Noalox or Deoxit forms a barrier so the arcing isn't leaving residue on your contacts.

The lower in ohms you vape, the more maintenance you will have to do. I run a 1.0 ohm coil; once a month works perfect for me. If you're running a .5 ohm coil, you will need to do it more often.

My favorite is Deoxit Gold with the brush applicator; a little pricey but it will last a life time. You can buy it in smaller tubes as well.