Battery Paranoia

Status
Not open for further replies.

DeadLili

Oct 26, 2009
Georgia
I've been vaping since 2009. Until a few days ago, I was still rocking the ego twist. Being around for the wild west of vaping, watching dumb people use unprotected batteries, and seeing videos of mods exploding in people's hands has made me paranoid.

Now I have a KangerTech Topbox Nano. The manual says, "Cell: Lithium 18650. 3.7V (must discharge over 30A)" Umm.. ok. So I pop off the battery cover to see what the vendor threw in there for me. Turns out it is this one: Sigelei 35A 2500mAh 18650 Bench Test Results...shame on you Sigelei!.

Is this battery unsafe for this mod? Does what mode I run the mod in (TC vs Power) affect which battery would be best for it? The Topbox Nano is 60W max. Any advice on a better choice for battery?

Derty

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 27, 2014
SC
13d010b0c8e05674b7567bdb4a2ad044.jpg

Sent from my VS810PP using Tapatalk

marquee

Aug 20, 2014
Utrecht, NL
I've been vaping since 2009. Until a few days ago, I was still rocking the ego twist. Being around for the wild west of vaping, watching dumb people use unprotected batteries, and seeing videos of mods exploding in people's hands has made me paranoid.

Now I have a KangerTech Topbox Nano. The manual says, "Cell: Lithium 18650. 3.7V (must discharge over 30A)" Umm.. ok. So I pop off the battery cover to see what the vendor threw in there for me. Turns out it is this one: Sigelei 35A 2500mAh 18650 Bench Test Results...shame on you Sigelei!.

Is this battery unsafe for this mod? Does what mode I run the mod in (TC vs Power) affect which battery would be best for it? The Topbox Nano is 60W max. Any advice on a better choice for battery?

TC mode saves energy (compared to power mode at the same wattage), since it will cut off power as soon as the temperature you chose has been achieved.

DeadLili

Oct 26, 2009
Georgia
That's one of his bench test spreadsheets

Sent from my VS810PP using Tapatalk