Battery safety

Status
Not open for further replies.

Newtothevapelyf3

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Apr 2, 2016
If you do that you should have them in a metal box or battery bag. They should not be charged unattended. I unplug everything at night, not worth the risk.
I mean they are charging right in front of me. So they technically aren't unattended. I won't charge them unless I'm near

Reactions: bnrkwest

FlamingoTutu

ECF Guru
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Aug 5, 2013
In the Mountains
I'm not a battery expert and don't pretend to be one but I don know you shouldn't charge batteries while you sleep. Case in point, I was charging batteries on a very reliable, highly regarded charger and then one day when I took them off, they were almost too hot to handle. Stuff happens, you want to be awake to catch it.

ETA - It won't overcharge until it does. It's not worth taking the gamble.

bnrkwest

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 6, 2011
Somewhere out there
If you sleep you should put them in a metal box or pan or battery bag. Things fail and if you're asleep you won't know it until after the fact. I even had a cig alike fail and start smoking and sputtering, if it happened while I was asleep it could have caught something on fire.

Reactions: FlamingoTutu

7sixtwo

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 5, 2013
the hinterlands
  • Deleted by retired1
  • Reason: Inappropriate

7sixtwo

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 5, 2013
the hinterlands
If you sleep you should put them in a metal box or pan or battery bag. Things fail and if you're asleep you won't know it until after the fact. I even had a cig alike fail and start smoking and sputtering, if it happened while I was asleep it could have caught something on fire.
Cigalikes are garbage compared to the LG/Samsung/Sony batteries we all should be using. I frequently charge my LG's and Sonys overnight on a Nitecore i4, but I guess I like to live dangerously. :D

bnrkwest

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran