Status
Not open for further replies.

highping

Ultra Member
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Aug 29, 2009
Columbus, OH
I just wanted to throw this out there, as I have made (and posted) a few mods using brass feeder tubes....

I have been using bottom feed mods for a few months now and have never seen any issues with the brass breaking down in the juice (until now). Some of my mods have 3ml bottles (which get me through 2-3 days) and some have 6ml bottles (which will last me 4-5 days).
When I was using these mods and changing the juice out every few days, I never had any discoloration of the liquid. And I was watching closely because I want to see if there was any backwash from the atty. The liquid always remained clean and clear to the last drop.

A couple weeks ago I had set aside one of my 18650 mods (with a 6ml bottle) and moved on to testing another mod. Yesterday I went to get it to use for the day and ... :ohmy:... green liquid :blink:.

So I guess brass does not like to soak in liquid for a couple weeks at a time. Even though I never noticed any problems with the juice when I was using it up faster, I have to assume that if there is enough contaimination to see in a couple weeks, that there is probably trace amounts from day 1.

I would have guessed that this would happen with copper, but I thought I was ok with brass. Anyone tried aluminum?

Anyway, if anyone is planning on making a juice feed mod just keep this in mind (and maybe stick with plastic tubing).

This is a pic of the original juice and the same juice after two weeks with the brass....

1111.jpg

highping

Ultra Member
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Aug 29, 2009
Columbus, OH
Highping thanks for the update. I just ordered the parts all except for the brass tube which I was going to get today at a local hobby shop... In order for me to proceed with this mod could I still bottom feed with a plastic tube? If so what kind of plastic and where could I get it?