evod/ego style battery power usage question

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I got a 1000mah evod vv a couple weeks ago and I like alright for now for how I vape.
The problem is I'm away from home for work for 12 hours minimum. On a full charge it either dies on the way home (45 minute commute) or right when I get home.
I started charging it when I can and carry a spare 650mah at work to avoid that problem.
I was locking the battery between breaks and stealth vapes but it didn't seem to have any effect on battery life.
All of this to ask, do the batteries in the evod/ego etc style constantly use power? I'm sorry this is a total newb question but it seems like batteries shouldn't die just sitting not being used...right?
In searching the forum it seemed to me the pcb/regulator deal--newbie sorry--draws power all the time but I wasn't sure just want to know the answer for curiosity sake.

molimelight

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 11, 2013
Columbia, MO
If all you're doing is vaping on breaks and the occasional stealth vape, a 1000 mAh battery should easily last all day. For instance, I have a 1000 mAh and a 650 mAh eGo C-Twist and either one will last an entire day on one charge. That's from waking at 05:30 AM and retiring at 10:00 PM, and never powering it down, with fairly heavy vaping in the morning and evening and just breaks and the occasional stealth vape at work. If you bought it locally, you might see if you can exchange it. But if it's both the 650 and 1000 maybe that brand of battery has a limited charge life. In which case you might try another brand, like a Spinner or a Joye eGo C-Twist, or maybe try something like an MVP.