Status
Not open for further replies.

oplholik

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 22, 2011
San Bernardino area, So. Cal.
I was wondering about this and what it does to Imeo producing new mods and selling in the US. Not very promising.
The FDA has set the date of Aug. 8th, 2016 as a deadline for bringing new vaping products to market. After this date FDA approval will be needed, likely a very expensive and and lengthy procedure.
This thread may be helpful. FDA Deeming updates - VTA issues FDA regulations calendar

zoiDman

My -0^10 = Nothing at All*
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 16, 2010
So-Cal
I am not an expert on all this, it is all so confusing, but from what I understand after Aug 8th, nothing vape related gets sold w/o FDA approval.

This isn't exactly true.

Products that have not been sold Before August 8th are considered "New Products". And these New Products can Not be sold after August 8th without 1st receiving Approval from the FDA via a PMTA for ENDS application.

Which BTW will be All but Impossible for anyone but BT, BP or possibly BV.

Another member posted this in the Big "Deeming" thread. It does a Pretty Good job of explain the Basics.

Dear Mr. Guster,

Thank you for contacting the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regarding its recently finalized rule, “Deeming Tobacco Products to be Subject to the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, as Amended by the Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act” (Deeming rule).

FDA anticipates that newly regulated businesses may have many questions and compiled this e-mail as a resource to help you better understand the Deeming rule and the potential impact to your business. We encourage you to review this information and keep checking our website for new information such as compliance training webinars and updates based on questions FDA receives.