FDA Deeming Proposal effect on Tobacco Extraction ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PapawBrett

Retired
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 16, 2012
Monroe NC
I will probably be placing these questions in several forums, and will most likely be wrong at least once.
As someone who extracts his own tobacco Flavors, I am simply asking for a little clarification.
Do the FDA Deeming regulations inhibit, in any way, the purchase of Pipe Tobaccos ?
Do the FDA Deeming regulations inhibit, in any way, the purchase of Cigars ?
Do the FDA Deeming regulations inhibit, in any way, the purchase of Bulk Tobaccos ?
I am not a Lawyer, a Politician, or any other form of Professional Thief. I am just an old truck driver who would like a few plain and simple answers.
Any and all assistance would be Appreciated, Thanks. PapawBrett

Reactions: 67Tele

Str8vision

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Dec 26, 2013
Sallisaw, Oklahoma USA
The way I understand it -all- pipe tobacco and cigars introduced after 2007 will need to seek FDA approval just like vaping items. However, since there were "essentially similar" items in existence prior to 2007 (pipe tobacco and cigars) I don't think those introduced post 2007 will need to file full PTMAs for FDA approval but I'm not sure. Several small tobacconists have already announced they will stop custom blending in-house pipe tobaccos as a result of the FDA's new rules. I've inquired to several major tobacco manufacturers but none have provided a response clarifying what impact the FDA's deeming regulations will have on their product lines. Just like vape shops, they simply don't want to discuss it.

Robert Cromwell

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Feb 16, 2015
elsewhere
I expect that soon the loophole for not taxing "Pipe Tobacco" like cigarette tobacco will end soon. As the vast majority of it sold is used to make roll your own cigarettes.
The old re-labeling trick will only work for so long.