Harsh throat hit after a long puff

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mohid

ECF Veteran
Sep 23, 2016
Pakistan
Hi all. I've been vaping for about 6 months now and still trying to find that spot I like. So I've been experimenting. Currently I vape with an EGO Mega with CLR coils. I'm having a problem. Gonna give as much details as possible.

Tl;dr The problem is that I get a super harsh throat hit at the end of a long puff. It's like I swallowed a porcupine. I have ruled out wicking issues, and any issues with the coil. The VG added seems to be the issue but it happens only at higher wattages. If the VG is bad then it should be bad at all wattages.

Now the details:
I've been using only one CLR coil head for about a month rebuilding it with 28g kanthal which comes out at 0.7 to 0.9 ohm. I just opened up another coil head which is a 0.5ohm and filled it with my own 60/40 vg/pg juice unflavored. However this juice was made with addition of VG that I bought from a vendor other than where I normally buy from. And the problem started.

So I experimented. As this was a new coil, I thought the problem was with that one only. So I switched the coil back to the old one and the same results. I ruled out wicking issue as I never had that with this coil earlier. Also when that happens there should be burnt taste not scratched throat. Cotton was also not even slightly burnt. I also changed the cotton to no avail. I don't have any problem with short puffs but longer ones have this harsh hit at the end.

Now it seemed that the juice was the cause. I don't have any proper measuring tools so I thought maybe it is too much pg for this ohm range. (I know this is idiotic because older coil should have worked fine if this was the cause as it was not giving the harshness earlier with the same pg/vg ratio). So added more of the newly bought VG in a small bottle and the harshness decreased. Added even more and it decreased further.