Status
Not open for further replies.

elbakan1

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Jan 18, 2014
Cape Coral, Florida.
Hello All,
I'm planning to participate in a study that requires to be tobacco free for 8 weeks.
I told the doctors I don't smoke anymore. I was about to mention vaping but didn't.
I asked about smoking cessation products that contain nicotine,
and they told me anabasine shows in these products but not cotinine.
Is this true?. If so, I'll either spend 8 weeks without vaping or not enroll.
Thank you for your help.

bacc.vap

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 18, 2011
Virtualville
What exactly are you saying here? That you're going to be tested for tobacco use prior to the test starting? And the testing they do looks for anabasine, but not cotinine? I'm no nic expert, I was just looking for clarification of what exactly is going on. I know there have been a few lenghty threads over the last few years concerning people getting tested for work insurance and such, I guess it really comes down to exactly what they're testing for, most tests, as far as i know, will peg a vaper as a smoker.

Here's a thread for example-> http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/fo...sing-nic-test.html?highlight=nicotine+testing

Firestorm

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 25, 2012
Chicagoland
I was tested for cigarette use when I got a life insurance policy when I was a smoker. Indeed, they look for cotinine that remains in your system long after the nicotine isn't measurable. I'm not an expert and I don't know about anabasin or if they have a test that can measure amounts going back eight weeks, but I temporarily stopped smoking four weeks prior to the test and I had no problems.

Firestorm

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 25, 2012
Chicagoland
Here's a study that claims that anabasine and anatabine concentrations in urine can be used to validate abstinence or measure the extent of tobacco use in persons undergoing nicotine replacement therapy.