How to Use a Syringe SAFELY for Vaping Purposes

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is for people who are not in professions that use syringes on a regular basis. I did a quick forum search and I don't think I saw anything like this here on ECF.

I made this so that people who use syringes but are a little inexperienced can be safe and avoid injuries. The process may seem complicated, but trust me, with experience it becomes second nature and you can go through the entire process safely and efficiently in less than 5 seconds (minus the time actually used for filling, obviously).

Experienced professionals who have done this hundreds of times may have more refined or different methods, so what they do will differ from what I show here. devices are also available that allow you to cap and uncap a syringe using only one hand. Do what you think works for you, but please always keep your safety in mind.

BTW, yes, I am a licensed and registered nurse here in the Philippines.

Parts of a Syringe:
insulin-syringes.jpg

VERY STRONG RECOMMENDATION:
Grind your needles to eliminate the point (bevel). This reduces the chances of the needle going deep(er) if you happen to poke yourself.
Even with flat needles, treat your syringe as if it had a sharp point, because it still does. I usually blunt my points on a sharpening stone, then load up a syringe with water and give it a slow and steady push through the needle to check the flow of liquid. It should come out in a smooth, steady stream with no spraying droplets to the side.

No Bevel.jpg

Hand Position:

HandPositionWrong.jpg

HandPositionRight.jpg

Changing Needles:
Removing the Needle:
IMPORTANT - NEVER *EVER* ATTACH OR REMOVE AN UNCAPPED NEEDLE. NEVER!!!