Status
Not open for further replies.

bigdancehawk

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 27, 2010
Kansas City, Missouri
This is from an e-mail I received today from the University of Kansas Hospital. Gee, I guess there are a lot of things I though I knew that are actually unknown. And I've been doing something wrong for the last 4 years because my vaping devices don't even have "cartridges." ;)

"It's important for people to understand that e-cigarettes exist in a grey zone as far as regulation goes," said Stephen Thornton, MD, toxicologist and medical director for The University of Kansas Hospital Poison Control Center. "If people are under the impression there is any quality control or safety measures, they're mistaken."

We've gathered what we do know and what we don't to best address these questions.

What are e-cigarettes?
  • There are many different brands. Those brands change often.
  • Most e-cigarettes are not manufactured in the U.S.
  • Each brand is a bit different, but most contain:
    • A battery
    • A heating coil
    • A vaporizing chamber
    • Cartridges that fit into that chamber
The cartridges are filled with a solution commonly called "e-liquid" or "e-juice." This solution typically contains variable amounts of nicotine usually dissolved in propylene glycol or a similar solvent. Sometimes these solutions have less or even more nicotine than regular cigarettes. They're also available in different strengths and flavors. Studies have shown that the listed strengths or concentrations of nicotine in these solutions may not be accurate.

How do they work?
The battery heats the liquid nicotine that's contained in the cartridge. The user then inhales the vapor from the heated liquid. This process is called "vaping."

Are e-cigarettes safe?
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration does not yet test or regulate e-cigarettes. So the makers do not have to follow any quality-control guidelines or safety standards.