Is pg corrosive to lung tissue?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Average Joe111

Apr 16, 2014
The reason I'm asking this is because I know pg is used as an alternative to other solvents in many applications.

As an example:

Most benzodiazipene's are not soluble in conventional solutions such as water, so people use pg because it breaks down that specific chemical structure quite effectively.

Now I'm not a scientist, and I don't happen to have human lung tissue at my disposal to see if it dissolves in pg (Lol), but it just has me thinking. I would hate to find out 10 years from now that pg has been slowly corroding all of our lungs.

I've actually been experiencing problems such as shortness of breath, not being able to take a "full" deep breath, and this weird tight chest feeling after a year and a half of vaping so I may just be paranoid.

Any input?

Cullin Kin

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 28, 2014
The 3Oh!3, Colorado
www.youtube.com
They use PG as a carrier in Albuterol inhalers... So, no, I would say it isn't corrosive to lung tissue.

Albuterol for asthma and PG!? | E-Cigarette Forum

"Albuterol Sulfate Syrup for oral administration contains 2 mg of albuterol as 2.4 mg of albuterol sulfate in each teaspoonful (5 mL). Albuterol Sulfate Syrup also contains the inactive ingredients citric acid, FD&C Yellow #6, flavor enhancer, hypromellose, propylene glycol, purified water, sodium benzoate, sodium citrate, strawberry flavor. Sodium hydroxide may be added to adjust pH."

Source: ALBUTEROL SULFATE SYRUPFORM NO. 0825

Last edited:

Average Joe111

Apr 16, 2014
They use PG as a carrier in Albuterol inhalers... So, no, I would say it isn't corrosive to lung tissue.