Isopropyl Flush

Discussion in 'ProVape' started by MonsterKenny, Nov 20, 2013.

Image has been removed.
URL has been removed.
Email address has been removed.
Media has been removed.
  1. MonsterKenny

    MonsterKenny Supplier Associate ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    dublin ohio
    With the new way we process circuit boards we are no longer recommending customers do the isopropyl flush that was once common for issues on your Provari.

    Im going to Sticky this so it can be seen.



    Kindly,
    ProVape
     
  2. nvmedjpain

    nvmedjpain Moved On ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    So what would we do now :confused:

    Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk 4
     
  3. robo74

    robo74 Senior Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Harvard, IL
    Wow, I did this to my mini before it went out on me. I thought it was because the board was loose not making button contact.
    But I have yet to have the techs get back to me as to what is up with my mini.

    Thats interesting news.

    Rob
     
  4. PLANofMAN

    PLANofMAN Signature Guru Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Location:
    Woodburn, OR
  5. MonsterKenny

    MonsterKenny Supplier Associate ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    dublin ohio
    Plan,
    Thanks for posting this blog :)
    Ken
     
  6. EddardinWinter

    EddardinWinter Pride Male Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Location:
    Richmond, Va
    I am glad you like it. If you see where I got something wrong, please let me know.

    I will correct and update as needed, MK.
     
  7. PLANofMAN

    PLANofMAN Signature Guru Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Location:
    Woodburn, OR
    This is from Zen, but I would think it would apply equally well to the ProVari.
    Edit: This is secondhand info, from someone who had a conversation with Zen. There is some controversy in the replies. Here's the link to the thread: http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/fo...dna30-battery-level-behavior-anyone-seen.html
     
  8. p.opus

    p.opus Ultra Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Location:
    Coral Springs FL
    I would like to see ProVape's response to this. They not only sell but recommend Noalox for the stainless steel threads on the device.
     
  9. EddardinWinter

    EddardinWinter Pride Male Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Location:
    Richmond, Va
    It certainly was a controversy. I do believe that the counter argument (that the worries of zinc/cathodic reaction are overblown) is correct. However, I would like to hear ProVape's official position on this matter.
     
  10. dedi

    dedi Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Waiting to hear more.............
     
  11. KY_Rob

    KY_Rob Ultra Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Location:
    Kentucky
    I'm not sure what to make of this thread...seems nearly a no-win situation, which is why I think ProVape is remaining silent. There's some technicalities at play here that doesn't make certain statements untrue. However, the implications are such that the lay person just ends up confused and PO'd.

    I have my own opinion about Noalox and No-Oxide. Truth is, either one, for most any mod, will function exactly the same for many years as long as basic care and maintenance take place.

    What I can say for sure, is now I know what products I'll continue to support and which ones I likely never will.
     
  12. p.opus

    p.opus Ultra Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Location:
    Coral Springs FL
    Here's my lowly opinion.

    ProVape has been recommending Noalox for a long time. Some of us have owned our devices for a long time, and I have yet to see any reported issue of galvanic pitting taking place in ANY stainless steel mod in the last 4 years.

    If such corrosion were taking place, I would think we would definitely hear about it in the same way that the isopropyl flush is now being discouraged.

    I think if it were as big a problem as some make it, we'd have heard something by now. Especially considering it's wide spread use.
     
  13. EddardinWinter

    EddardinWinter Pride Male Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Location:
    Richmond, Va
    That is kinda how I felt, too. I have been using it in all three of my ProVarii. Nothing like what was alleged in that thread has happened to me, either.
     
  14. Riverboat

    Riverboat Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    The last Provari I bought was ordered on 09/17/2013. Is still able to do the isopropyl flush,or is it one of the new processed boards?
     
  15. p.opus

    p.opus Ultra Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Location:
    Coral Springs FL
    Nope.

    From the ProVape troubleshooting website.

    I have heard it has to do with the epoxy used to mount the board to the tube. Perhaps the epoxy they used to use was no longer available and the new epoxy being used is not as isopropyl resistant.
     
  16. Riverboat

    Riverboat Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    Thanks for the info p.opus ... I better hold on to my Isopropyl flushable Provari....
     
  17. Riverboat

    Riverboat Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    I checked out the link.. I think his batteries are either real old or improperly charged.. The ZNA showing a 20-30% level then showing low after a few hits.. Then when you let it sit for a few it goes back up to the 1/3 level is not uncommon. Its like when you Provaris light blinks and wont fire, remove the battery and reinsert and it fires again for a short while until it shuts down again due to low battery levels..
     

Share This Page