Mad Hatter RDA Issues! (Hot spots!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aidan Vapes

Dec 21, 2015
Just picked up a Mad Hatter Genuine rda today to add to my collection! Now I feel that I can build a pretty good coil as ive been vaping on my twisted messes rda for about 4 months now and never had this issue once.

My problem is, after a few seconds I get hot spots on my coil in the mad hatter and then it catches fire if i continue to fire as expected, but im not sure whats causing it! like i say ive never had this issue on my twisted messes RDA and i do the exact same build! (Twisted 28 Gauge kanthal, 5-6 wraps 0.8-0.9 ohms)

My Build + Wick, wick is saturated plenty ( Coil is a bit off as I was moving it around seeing if that would fix the issue before I posted here, but you can get an idea of what im running)

d966b1ab60313460d123cd5874d0ceca.jpg

Shortly after firing

7dcad37f79b7302f59f89c32c29e0243.png

A Little longer

aafb68b216d410443d05076b71234c4b.png

The pictures were taken with me firing at 40w at 0.9 ohms

Any help is much appreciated! Thanks

edyle

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 23, 2013
Port-of-Spain, Trinidad & Tobago
is the twisted messes a 4 post rda? a 4 post rda has more heatsink available on the positive post.

here's what to do: at the positive post, double back the leg and let it contact the part coming from the coil so it's like make a fatter wire on the leg where the coil connects to the positive post.

think heatsink

Aidan Vapes

Dec 21, 2015
is the twisted messes a 4 post rda? a 4 post rda has more heatsink available on the positive post.

here's what to do: at the positive post, double back the leg and let it contact the part coming from the coil so it's like make a fatter wire on the leg where the coil connects to the positive post.

think heatsink
Yes my twisted messes is a 4 post, okay thanks for that ill give it a try and let you know how it goes

Nikea Tiber

ECF Veteran
Jul 21, 2015