• This forum has been archived

If you'd like to post a thread, post it here instead!

View Forum

Major Depressive Disorder

Status
Not open for further replies.

Retriever

Moved On
Nov 2, 2011
So I have MDD. My mom committed suicide several years ago while I was in nursing school. Nursing was a second career for me. Well I graduated with my 2 year agree, being second in my class out of 80 students. I was so proud. Then I went on to try for my bachelor's degree. All of a sudden one day while sitting in class my heart sped up really fast and I could feel all the blood rush to my face. I became dizzy and thought I was going to die. So I left class and rushed home, running two red lights on the way. It was terrible. Well that was the start of my panic disorder. I had every test run that they could to rule out a heart condition.

After I was diagnosed with paic disorder the depression came. Now it is a day to day thing with me. Some days are good, while others are sheer hell. Most of my symptoms are controlled with medications, but they really numb out my emotions and I feel like I am on autopilot most of the time.

So quitting smoking has been a real effort for me. The support I have found here has been a big help. Yes, I do have problems still, but I try to take it one day at a time. Things have gotten so bad I can't even go into Wal-Mart anymore, as there are too many people to deal with. Time will tell what happens to me. Just glad I found ECF. :)

Loveridden

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 20, 2011
Schaumburg, IL
Hey Retriever, I also suffer from depression. I don't have a panic disorder but I do have some anxiety issues. Smoking was something I leaned on too. Am very glad to have found vaping, which is so much healthier, and funner too! I also went to nursing school, but got very ill and had to drop out. After I recovered from gallstones and pancreatitus, I decided not to do nursing school again, was so so so stressful!!!

ego-fan

Moved On