more problems with funky taste coming from newly wicked coils

Status
Not open for further replies.

brianwert93

May 31, 2014
New Jersey
i'm not sure what else to do besides replace the coils or take one out. i cleaned them both off and im pretty sure i know which one is bad but i want to know if there's anything else i can do to get rid of that ungodly after taste of feet and grossness. :(

i might add that i am new to mods and RDAs.

EDIT: yes I am building with cotton

Last edited:

tayone415

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Aug 9, 2013
CA
i'm not sure what else to do besides replace the coils or take one out. i cleaned them both off and im pretty sure i know which one is bad but i want to know if there's anything else i can do to get rid of that ungodly after taste of feet and grossness. :(

Are you building and wicking your own coils, and what are you using it in?

brianwert93

May 31, 2014
New Jersey
If your building with cotton, the first few hits are little off till the cotton breaks in even if you boiled it.

I think silica will do the same too.

I'm not sure but I've fired it a few times with no tip on it to see how it vaped and it looked like a clean vape but you can smell and taste this funky odor. I hope it does break in. I just didn't want to be doing something wrong and continue to do it because I miss having that mod to use while I'm at home. I've been using my iTaste 3.0 pretty heavily lately.

Halcyon2501

ECF Veteran
Jul 27, 2013
Greenville, SC USA
No experience with RDAs, but I know the Kayfuns I've gotten come with a light coating of machine oil. I always have to wash them out before I use them. Have you cleaned your RDA thoroughly? I know Kanthal generally has some slight impurities on it as well - you might try dryburning your coils before you wick them if you're not already.

Otherwise, it's likely just the cotton break in that Sthur mentioned. You're using organic cotton, right?

brianwert93

May 31, 2014
New Jersey