My Coil Rebuilds Keep Reading Low Ohms

Status
Not open for further replies.

WestonG91

Apr 10, 2014
UK
Hey,

I've been rebuilding Protank heads for a while, but I've never had any way to check Ohms until recently. I used 5 wraps of 32 gauge Kanthal around 2.5mm Silica with a needle or around a cocktail stick for a cotton build. I've been vaping this build for a couple months on basic Ego batteries with no problems. I just bought an eGo-V v3 that can read Ohms, so I was curious to see exactly what Ohm the coils I had been vaping were.

When I put my Evod with a rebuilt coil on my new eGo-V v3 it came up L0 (meaning low Ohms) and won't fire at all. At first I thought maybe the coil was just below the eGo-V v3's 1.2 Ohm cut-off. So I tried building another coil... this time 6 wraps. It gave me the same L0. I have since tried different rebuilds ranging from 2 wraps to 8 wraps using 32 gauge and all are read as low ohms by my eGo-V. I figured the battery was defective until I tried a stock 2.5Ohm Protank head and the eGo-V read it at 2.5Ohms and fired it perfectly.

I've now build more than 10 different coils with different atomizer heads and different wraps and all come back L0. I just don't understand what I'm doing wrong. Especially seeing as I am vaping one of those same rebuilt heads on my standard 1100mAH eGo as I write this...

I'm pretty confused by this so I'm not even sure what to ask, but any input would be appreciated.

Thanks.

steved5600

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 7, 2012
Dallas, Texas