Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alakar

Apr 6, 2011
Milwaukee, WI
I have been vaping the same mix for the last 5 years: 14mg nic, 50/50 pg/vg, 1.5% 7-Leaves, 1.5% Maxx B, 1% RY4 and 1% menthol. I had been using a 5v homemade box mod with 1.5 ohm dual coil cartomizers and this blend worked really well for me. I got tired of rebuilding the mod, and my preferred cartomizers are getting harder to find so I moved up to a Cool Fire IV at 30w with a Innokin Apex iSub tank at .5 ohms.

First thing I noticed with this new setup is the menthol was just overpowering and unpleasant. I dropped the menthol from the mix, but the flavors now seem to "dry" and almost dusty; they lack any richness. The hit also seems a bit harsh.

I'm looking for suggestions on adjusting this recipe. Do I need to drop the nic level for the harshness or would adjusting the pg/vg balance help? How about the dryness of the flavors? Would upping the RY4 round out the flavor some? Is there something else that can add some richness?

Any suggestion is appreciated.

Reactions: Snafuninja

SailCat

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 10, 2009
Beaverton, OR
www.SailCat.com
It would help in suggesting possible solutions if you would share the brands of flavorings. To suggest any possible solution without that information would be speculation at best, so here goes. :)

Set aside a small sample of your juice to tiker on so you don't wreck 120 ml.

EM will add moisture to e-liquids. While it's not actually a sweetener, it will add a degree of sweetness to e-liquids which are drier (less sweet) than Ethyl Maltol itself. If that effect isn't objectionable, that course of action would be worth a try. You may also find Koolada a more pleasant alternative to menthol for your new application.

I really enjoyed your recounting of your five year, one mod, one juice experience.

Last edited:
Reactions: BrotherBob

BrotherBob

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Dec 24, 2014
Sunnyvale,CA,USA