Nemesis "crunchy switch" fix

Status
Not open for further replies.

schizm722

ECF Veteran
Oct 8, 2013
AR USA
The hcigar brand Nemesis is SO close to perfect that I will probably never know if the one made in Greece is actually better.
You are getting more than you pay for with the hcigar Nemesis, which is a rare treat.

"Crunchy switch" syndrome! (easy fix)

Most of the Nemesis, including the switch, is machined on a lathe.
Improper machining speeds or dulling cutters will make for machining marks, uneven finishes, etc. which is the sole reason for a crunchy switch. I'm a machinist, and sometimes we cut corners to increase production, etc. The switch is the only moving part of the device and was NOT the place to save time/increase production, etc., but we are past that point now.

Slowly take your switch apart, taking note of the placement of the little brass pin. Don't lose that pin, remember where it goes, it's the locking pin that allows you to screw in/unscrew your switch from the mod.
Take the spring(s)/magnets out.

You need to sand & semi-polish the switch post on the bottom cap and the inner diameter of the brass on the other half of the switch.
Start with a very fine grit sandpaper (I used 400 lightly, then 600) and finish/semi-polish with green scotch-brite.
Important:
Sand in the direction that the switch works.
Don't put sandpaper in the brass hole and spin it around, don't grab the post on the bottom cap with sandpaper and spin it around.
(this is the same way a lathe works, you want to remove the edges formed in that rotation, not add more!)
Work your sandpaper in and out of the brass hole & up and down on the bottom cap post, periodically cleaning and checking for smoothness by putting the 2 halves together and working them back & forth.
Don't go nuts and remove too much metal. We are not removing metal here, just machining marks. Sanding too much and changing the tolerances of the 2 halves will actually make your problem worse.