New to mesh with a nextgen

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheRedlines

Sep 29, 2014
Phuket, Thailand
Hey guys,
So I'm fairly new to a proper Genesis setup. I have a nextgen new to me as of yesterday. I found a few videos and followed the build with [HASHTAG]#400[/HASHTAG] and [HASHTAG]#200[/HASHTAG] mesh. I seem to get it all together, pulse out all of the hot spots, Finally get a nice consistent fire and feel happy and confident and then fill her up. I'll get a half hour to an hour into vaping it and then a burned hit or hot spot crops up. This might be fine on a traditional top cap setup but with the nextgen it requires the tank be emptied. It is really becoming frustrating. It this just par for the course or can a proper mesh setup not require fiddling for weeks on end? I don't mind getting better at it but if it is something that will require a daily fiddle I'd rather just find something better. Just looking for the honest truth.

illitirit

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 21, 2013
United States
maybe I can help you. I have been playing with my nextgen for about 3 months now. I have 4 of these tanks in rotation (clones). They are my absolute favorite purchase thus far.

The thing I have noticed about the nextgen, and its probably its upside and downfall is that because it uses kayfun style vacuum wicking system, unless you are drawing on the tank strong enough, it wont wick well. Your draw has to have enough pressure to force liquid into the wick holes, they are small so quite alot of resistance needs to be there. Traditional gennies dont have to rely on this to wick.