New to RBA's - done my research but still a few questions...

Status
Not open for further replies.

AdamCee

Feb 23, 2017
Hi guys,

So I've had my smok Alien kit for just over a month now. Absolutely love it, but the price of coils is crippling me, at £5 each. I'm interested in beginning to use RBA's, and want to start with the TFV8 Baby Beast RBA.

So I understand that batteries are very important in this process, and tried to do a bit of research. So the one I am using has a max continuous discharge current of 20A. Now does this mean to be safe I have to stay within 20A? Because of course, I'm not running it continuously, and the spec also states I can run up to 30A for 6 seconds. Would this be dangerous to near the 30A number, as I never take drags over 2-3 seconds on a high wattage anyway.

Secondly, voltage. I've struggled to find much about this, and having dropped physics at GCSE, I am far from an expert. So my batteries are 3.7 nominal voltage, which I understand is basically an "average" running power. So when I'm using Steam Engine and the voltage is going up, is this a problem? Like what would my maximum voltage be? Does it HAVE to stay around 3.7?

Thirdly.. Ohms. Now for the time being, I'm not planning on getting too extravagant with my builds until I'm more confident, and the RBA I want comes with a pre-built 0.3 ohm coil. Now, when building a coil, is this what changes in your wattage range? At the moment I just want a nice and cheap way to replace my coils. So to give an example...
My current battery has: A nominal voltage of 3.7 and a max continual output of 20A.
The default build: 0.3 ohms
If, for simplicity's sake, I run my mod at 100W on 0.3 ohms, Steam Engine states I will have an 18.26A output, and a 5.48V output. Is this safe? Or have I exceeded a limit on my voltage?

Any help is much appreciated. There I was 6 months ago thinking learning the difference between VG/PG was difficult.......

Reactions: 90VG

90VG

ECF Veteran
Jan 19, 2016