Noob DIY'er Questions...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shy One

May 31, 2012
LA, CA
Greetings all,
I've been vaping for over 4 years but new to DIY. Preparing for the worst so I am going to dive into DIY. Actually kind of looking forward to it!

So I've been reading threads about what nicotine base to buy. It looks to me that some sites have the nicotine sold "separately", and some are mixed into the VG/PG. (and you can buy the pg/vg ratio and the nicotine level you want). Am I getting that right?

I am planning on buying nicotine for "deep storage". It is better to buy the nicotine without the vg/pg in it?

I am thinking it would be better to buy the nicotine by itself so that I am not married to a certain pg/vg ratio.

Also after spending hours reading about nicotine vendors these are the ones that seem to get consistently good reviews:

ECX
VZ
CXTC
Vape Clarity
Nicselect
VT Premium
Nude Nic
Nicobrand
Vaperstek

I like a good throat hit, and no "pepper". I am in the US. Any feedback would be great, and if I got something wrong please lmk!

A while ago I bought some small bottles of pg/vg with the nic in it, as well as some flavors, and I made my first juice last week. It actually wasn't bad! I made a simple chocolate mint flavor and I was pleasantly surprised :)

Thanks to all!

Train2

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 11, 2013
CA, USA
Something's gotten you confused - ALL the nic we buy for DIY is nic in PG or VG or some mix of both.
There IS such a thing a pure nic, but
a) You're not allowed to talk about it here
and
b) it's deadly. Poison. You need a full protective suit and special ventilation to work with it.

Most people get 100 mg/ml as their nic base. That's a plenty high concentration and is readily available (for now). You have to decide if you want PG or VG or a blend.
That kind of depends on what you want to MAKE - if you make high-VG juice, you may need to start with VG Nic base.