Origen v2 as my first genny?

Status
Not open for further replies.

3mhmama

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 11, 2015
Los Angeles
I stopped in at a local b&m the other day to stock up on some juice and of course had to browse their stock of rdas and rtas. I asked the woman about the avocado atty, and she said that if I wanted to look at that style of rta, I should really go with the Origen they had there, and that it was hands down, one of the best flavor rtas out there. I didn't pick up new gear that day, but now I'm intrigued.

I currently rotate between a rose v2, ubertoot clone, velocity mini, and a derringer, and like so many here, can't help but look for another piece of flavor-chasing gear. The woman in the store said I could build the Origen with cotton and that the flavor was stellar, but everything I've ever read about gennies seems to suggest that stainless steel mesh is the way to go. I've never worked with mesh before, and it looks like there are a number of different types to choose from.

Here are some questions I have, and any help/advice would be appreciated:
1) is the flavor from the Origen like that of a good rda? Better? On par? And is the flavor generated largely from mesh wicks, or the engineering/design of Genesis-type atties?
2) what type of mesh should I get? The juices I vape are typically heavier vg, but not all. It seems like the choice of mesh you use depends on how thick your juice is?
3) what gauge wire should I use? And how many wraps/ohms seem to be a sweet spot?
4) thoughts on cotton wicking in the Origen? (I'd like to try mesh out, but am curious how cotton performs in case I fail miserably at mesh wicks)
5) besides a mini blowtorch (any recommendations?), are there any other building materials I'd need beyond what's typically required for building an rta/rda?
6) if the Origen doesn't sit upright, and tilts over on its side while its in my bag, will it leak everywhere?

Thanks!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

VictorC