Out of date E-liquid

Status
Not open for further replies.

Helen Tyler

May 21, 2017
I have been vaping for about 4 years and never had problem.

I recently bought some e-liquid from the internet and became very I'll. Vomiting, headaches etc. On closer inspection of the bottle I noticed that it was out of date.
I contacted the co. and they said out of date e-liquid cannot not make you sick etc. and that the product would only lose flavour.

I know nothing about eliquids and what can happen if they are out of date. All I know is that i was sick.

Does anyone here know about the consequences of smoking expired e-liquid?

Reactions: djsvapour

B2L

Vaping Master
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 14, 2012
Jacksonville, FL
I have some Nicoticket juice that is well over a year past date that I still vape with no issues. Nicotine tends to oxidize over time which will cause a decrease in nic level and flavors can change, sometimes for the worse and sometimes for the better, but I have never had or heard of any ill effects from vaping expired juice.

I think Bonskibon is correct, that sounds like nic sickness. The nic level could be off, as in higher than labeled or it could be a reaction to the flavoring. Is this a flavor that you've ordered before?

B2L

Vaping Master
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 14, 2012
Jacksonville, FL
Thanks for your reply.

No I have never ordered this flavour before it is a new one.

Don't expiry dates work like food expiry dates, as in it could make you sick if consumed.

That's a common misconception with eliquid, as well as food. The dates are actually "best by" dates and are based on when the product will be at is freshest. With eliquid, freshest is not always best.

The quality and desirability of the product can vary more based on how it's kept than how long it's kept for.

djsvapour

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Oct 2, 2012
England and Wales