Problem with kanger protank II and provari

Discussion in 'ProVari' started by KurrptSenate, Oct 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Image has been removed.
URL has been removed.
Email address has been removed.
Media has been removed.
  1. KurrptSenate

    KurrptSenate Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Location:
    PA
    I was ecstatic to receive my provari and SVD yesterday in the mail. Naturally, this means I vaped a bit more than usual. After enjoying my mtbakervapors root beer float for a while I started to get a Lo warning from the provari. The tank kept flooding. I cleaned out everything multiple times but the problem persisted.

    I decided to call it quits till I could get some new heads.

    Today I purchased 5 replacement heads and an additional pro tank II. I changed the head on the old tank and fired up the provari. Shortly after, a persistent E1 warning popped up. I tried the same tank on the SVD and had no problems at all. I put the new tank on the provari with no problems.

    I'm not sure why the old tank won't work on the provari any more but will work on the SVD. Anyone know what I should do?
     
  2. Kuma79

    Kuma79 Super Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    What is the old tank reading on the Ao setting?
     
  3. stevegmu

    stevegmu Vaping Master ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Location:
    I'm home...
    Lo isn't a fault. It is the menu option to turn on or off the light. The ProVari has certain protection circuitry to prevent a shorted atomizer from firing and causing a massive explosion. Apparently the SVD does not.
     
  4. KurrptSenate

    KurrptSenate Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Location:
    PA
    The old tank was reading all over the place. Normally 2.6
     
  5. Kuma79

    Kuma79 Super Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    Unless you have the volts cranked all the way up i cant see where that would be the problem. Maybe its a bad ground?
     
  6. KurrptSenate

    KurrptSenate Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Location:
    PA
    Yesterday it was flooding and wouldn't allow me to take a cape unless I switched to the ego twist. The flavor was over the top to a ridiculous extent that I gave up for the rest of the night.
     
  7. Preloader

    Preloader Ultra Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Lo is also a reading you get when you go to Ao to read the resistance of an atomizer that has a short. Lo meaning "low" resistance, or short.
     
  8. Kuma79

    Kuma79 Super Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    This is what I originally thought too but considering he said that he used two different heads it seems unlikely. Possible but unlikely.
     
  9. KurrptSenate

    KurrptSenate Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Location:
    PA
    It was spitting out Lo when checking Ao. Looked weird to me too. If I tried to cape after that I'd get an E1
     
  10. KurrptSenate

    KurrptSenate Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Location:
    PA
    Lo for short makes sense in that respect but I bought a blister pack of heads and had the same effect. I can get it to cape now but the tank is so loose.
     
  11. KurrptSenate

    KurrptSenate Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Location:
    PA
    it seems like the center post is down too far on my provari. in order to get a good vape I have to unscrew the tank a good amount to allow enough air flow. i'm still getting popping when doing this after cleaning out the tank
     
  12. kbf101998

    kbf101998 In the Sheepiezone Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Location:
    Brentwood, Tn, USA
    I have had that error message after 'flooding'. I changed everything and it just kept reading the same error msg. I took the tank off and cleaned the contacts really well--put the tank back on and it worked fine. I have had that happen twice--once got the E4 msg and both times I just cleaned it very well and it worked.
     
  13. KurrptSenate

    KurrptSenate Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Location:
    PA
    Are you talking about the center pin being cleaned well? (I assume)

    There is some slight corrosion. Not sure what I should use. I thought about getting a steel wool scrub pad to assist in this
     
  14. Zbeast08

    Zbeast08 Ultra Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Location:
    Wilson, NC, USA
    I would use the 99% ISO alcohol and qtips that Provape recommends and clean and reclean and then use a fresh quip to dab any excess off the contact and within the well area! just my opinion!
     
  15. LoganCrane

    LoganCrane Senior Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Location:
    TEXAS BY GAWD
    [​IMG]

    Sexy pic :) I know the colors don't match at all
     
  16. EddardinWinter

    EddardinWinter Pride Male Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Location:
    Richmond, Va
    See my blog (the red 3 under my Avatar links to them all) on ProVari maintenance.

    99% Isopropyl alcohol with a Q-tip, and a pencil eraser if there is stubborn resistance.
     
  17. skex

    skex Senior Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    Austin Tx USA
    In my experience the problem with the pro-tank is that people don't always get the coils screwed in completely. In fact I had managed to jam mine up very badly because I didn't realize it screwed in and couldn't figure out why it wasn't seating properly. So to start make sure you get the coil fully screwed in and seated in the base. if you are still getting errors after that pull the coil out and gently pry the center pin in the coil out so it will stick out further and make good contact with the center pin on your device. Just be careful not to pull it out too far.
     
  18. KurrptSenate

    KurrptSenate Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Location:
    PA
    I tried the eraser trick but have to get a hold of some 99% alcohol now. I haven't had any major issues since but I still get a pool on the brass connection under the 510 that I have to wipe clean. Not sure what causes this.
     
  19. EvilZoe

    EvilZoe Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Location:
    Savoir-Faire is everywhere!


    Well, THIS is an option to make Protanks actually work but the price is sort of high-ish. I've got two and switch them around.

    I also found that the Loki beauty ring helps cut some of the airiness...something about its design is perfect for that purpose. Found that one out by accident.
     
  20. kbf101998

    kbf101998 In the Sheepiezone Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Location:
    Brentwood, Tn, USA
    Yes I was talking about the center pin and the area around it. I used a paper towel and a Q-tip with some 99% ISO alcohol--cleared up the problem. One thing I have noticed is that it really needs to be dried each time I change tanks because there is usually a little moisture there. I don't clean it each time--just use a paper towel to dry it really well.


     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page