Propylene Glycol (PG) Scare and Misconceptions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brandon_4078

Feb 7, 2014
Central Wisconsin
A little background information to accredit myself a little bit I am a Manufacturing Engineering student with a minor in Materials Science. I am not a doctor, propylene glycol expert, or claim to know more than anyone else. I just want to point out a few observations to the uninformed and people who maybe worried about having PG in there e-liquid.

So I got in a discussion at the bar last night with one of those uneducated guys that thinks he is smarter than everyone and is an expert on a topic just because he read or heard something by someone with a Ph.D. To be honest this was not the first time someone has talked with me concerned with the ingredients in what I am vaping on. I always just truthfully reassure the person that my e-juice contains VG found in fog machines, PG found in asthma inhalers, nicotine, and flavoring (they usually have no problem with it). This was the first time that I had to deal with a stubborn person that just wanted to argue though. He made the argument that because PG is used in antifreeze ecigs are no better for you.

Some facts about propylene glycol:

Propylene Glycol is used in antifreeze

Propylene Glycol is used in paint

Propylene Glycol is a solvent

Does this automatically mean PG is toxic? NO!

Propylene Glycol is used in some toxic chemicals (antifreeze, paint, etc) because of its solvent and other properties. This in no way means that PG itself is toxic. Actually just the opposite is true (PG is very low to not toxic) when you look at the studies that have been done.

Lets look at water (dihydrogen monoxide) for example.

Some facts about water:

Water is used in polyurethane

Water is used in household ammonia

Water is a solvent

Water is essential to life and it is not toxic

Water is used in some toxic chemicals (ammonia, paint, polyurethane, etc) because of its solvent properties.