Status
Not open for further replies.

suprtrkr

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 22, 2014
Cowtown, USA. Where the West begins.
Hi all. I'm working on a mod design, and I have never used SMT FETs before. The mod I am trying to design will have three: one for firing, one for reverse polarity battery protection and one for a power off switch. They are all in SO-8 packaging. My question is, can I put three SO-8 packages on a SO-24 host board, or two on a SO-16? Will they fit, I mean, or have heat problems? Obviously the leads will have to be different; they're not going to common much. My eyes are no longer good enough, nor my hands steady enough, to do a handheld Dremel tool on a copper clad board and come up with .5mm contact pads. Does somebody make host boards for 2-3 SO-8s?

Gummy Bare

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 2, 2012
San Diego, California
Woh, that is cool.... and pretty much flew over my head at the same time. What's the advantages of using a circuit board instead of the common way for wiring up unregulated box mods? Why does it need 3 mosfets?

Sorry for the dumb questions, I'm by far now anything near an electrical engineer. I did some random board soldering as a kid in school though.

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk

suprtrkr

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 22, 2014
Woh, that is cool.... and pretty much flew over my head at the same time. What's the advantages of using a circuit board instead of the common way for wiring up unregulated box mods? Why does it need 3 mosfets?

Sorry for the dumb questions, I'm by far now anything near an electrical engineer. I did some random board soldering as a kid in school though.