Question on coil wrapping - new to RDA's

Status
Not open for further replies.

simerese

Feb 8, 2014
Buffalo, NY
I just did my first successful build! I built a dual micro coil on an iGo-W clocking in at about .7ohms and so far I'm quite happy. Since I'm new to rebuilding of course I'm watching all kinds of "how to" videos and questions are starting to swirl around my head. I guess my question(s) are: what's the difference between a micro coil vs spacing the wraps out? What's the difference between 3 or 4 wraps vs 8 or 10? What's the difference between wrapping your kanthal on a small eyeglass screwdriver vs a thicker drill bit? What effect do these types of techniques have on your vaping experience? Thanks in advance for any replies!

InTheShade

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 26, 2013
South Texas
Hi Simerese. For me the micro coil gives the absolute best flavor for the amount of time invested in making it. Basically I can take a 1/16 drill bit and wrap a 10 wrap coil, thread it with cotton and go on about my day in less than 4 minutes. I could probably get a more flavorful vape from some other build, but right now, it's my goto coil and it's giving me an excellent consistent vaping experience.

There are many theories as to why the micro coil gives great flavor. Most seem to think it is because there is more wire to vaporize the juice faster and hotter, producing a clean vape where all the liquid components are vaporized at almost the same time. There are posters here with much more expertise than I about micro coils (superxdrifter being one - the grand-daddy and probably the first micro coil builder in these parts)

You can read all about difference micro coil builds http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/forum/reos-mods/446263-micro-coils-ohms-description-12.html <--- there.