ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 6, 2014
Northern MI USA
20170919_095911_resized_zpslfmm68rm.jpg
20170919_095735_resized.jpg
20170919_095911_resized.jpg

Not much makes me as happy as a day at the range with a new rifle and handloads. A couple of older guys asked what the hell I was smokin' and I was proud to show them the Reo Grand! Turns out they were still smoking cigs and had tried ecigs before but they were fascinated with the Reo.

There's my black beauty next to the 6.5 Creedmoor cartridge. Good shooting so far at 300 yards.

Last edited:

Spydro

Sindoyen
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 20, 2013
nowhither
Not much that can beat a day alone far out in the wilds of the outdoors burning some powder. But introducing others to the Reos was a plus that was worth sharing the outdoors with them.

No Reos in this picture, but this is my private range that I set up out on the desert 18 or 19 years ago. I studied topo maps for likely safe spots, found the place chosen with my GPS and set it up with a laser range finder. The gentle slope of the sandy field makes targets easy to see and ricochets all but never occur. There is no other access to it except the dead end two track on the left, and there is literally nothing but raw desert for at least 100 miles behind those hills.

Target is at 100 yards, IiRC to test fire some handgun special purpose hand loads. Just in front of the color line above the umbrella between the light sandy field and the green Creosote bush line is at 1000 yards. Mid & long gongs are above the umbrella near the base of the sandy slope on the foot hills well below the cliffs.

My favorite 6.5 of all time was a 6.5 Super Bower wildcat 15" custom bull barrel that I shot on a highly reworked TC Contender frame. It was one of my many long range break and bolt action hand cannons, and my favorite 1000 yard specialty hand canon.

SandPitRange.jpg

K31Scout

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 6, 2014
Northern MI USA