Really Confused Noobie!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leith Wilburn

Jul 8, 2017
Okay so today I purchased a Smok Alien 220w with limitless rdta tank and use UD Alien coils. The container for coils says 26ga*3+32ga and under that KA1 and then ID 2.5/0.15 *insert ohms sign thing that idk how to place*. My juice is Formal Rockstar Breakfast 6mg. Now I'm completely new to vaping with rdta or any rebuildable anything. I can't even rebuild a cardboard box. So for some reason my vape will fire for about two seconds and then I get the burnt taste that everybody hates. When I purchased it I changed coils and wicks from the original owner so those are new. I put in the juice and left it for at least 20 minutes to get the wick wet. My mod is running at 125 watts, .053 volts, .167 ohms, .299 amps, mode:watts, and PCB*C is 25*C. Idk what half that does but there it is. Please helpppp

bwh79

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 11, 2014
Oregon
Also I just lowered wattage to 60 just to see if the wattage was too high. I believe that was the issue.
I think you're probably right. Just because it will go to 125 (or 220), doesn't mean it's a good idea.

Any other recommendations for wattage or setting to run in??
Keep it in watts mode with those Kanthal alloy (KA1) coils. The other modes are for TC (temperature control) and require specific types of wire: SS = stainless steel alloy, Ni = pure nickel and Ti = pure titanium. SS coils can be used either in wattage mode or TC-SS mode. Ni and Ti should only ever be used in their respective TC modes.

sonicbomb

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 17, 2015
1187 Hundertwasser
In the spectrum of power used by the majority of vapers, 125 watts is a bucket load of power. Start low, and increase it until you reach a happy level. It's not a competition to see how much power you can use. Of the numbers on the screen, the only really important or useful ones are battery level and wattage, or in TC mode the temperature.