Resistance for coils

Status
Not open for further replies.

chin88

Aug 22, 2012
Australia
Hi,

I am pretty new to this and I recently just got a GGTS with an ody, whenever i wrap my wick, I would just cut an estimate of 2.5cm 32 gauge Kanthal wire and 2 long silver wires to make the coil. May I ask how does this resistance work and how does it affect the vape ? What can I learn so the vaping is really good ? Another question would be should I make a single coil or dual coil for the atomizer ?

Thanks
Chin

AttyPops

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jul 8, 2010
Hc Svnt Dracones - USA EST
Hmmm. Well, 1st things 1st. Resistance.

Resistance is like.....a valve on the end of the garden hose. The more resistance to water flow (more closed), the less water.

So the more resistance to the coil, the less electricity flows. So colder. So lower resistance (ohms) = hotter at any given voltage.

Voltage = water pressure. So more voltage gets more flow even for a given resistance than lower voltage.

You should have/get a multimeter to test the ohm rating (resistance rating).

Dual coil anything requires twice the current since you're powering two coils side-by-side. Voltage is the same, but amps (current flow) doubles. Some devices can't handle it.

I'd get good at 1 coil before I went to two coils anyway.

Hope this helps.

steved5600

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 7, 2012
Dallas, Texas
Here are some things you might find useful.
Attypops is correct. Volts is to electricity what water pressure is to water. Resistance is to electricity what hose o pipe size is to water. The smaller the hose the greater the resistance. But watts are the goal. Here is a chart, spreadsheets to help with the whole thing.

P2seQ.jpg View attachment 146831 View attachment resistance wire calc..xlsx