Silica wicks, cotton wicks, or tanks?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaysin

ECF Veteran
Dec 12, 2012
Clearwater, FL
I am still a noob but have been doing a lot of reading..... I have recently upgraded to a few ego-c twist bats with a couple mini vivi nova clearos. I am very happy with them and excited to order many new flavors.

However!

Everyone has me freaked out about silica wicks! Now I have a couple questions. Rebuilding my nova heads seems easy enough but am I just being paranoid? If I go the cotton yarn route do you use 2 pieces or just 1? If I just go to a tank system does it eliminate this concern? Is it truly known that cotton is safe??

Thrasher

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 28, 2012
Madeira beach, Fla
just being paranoid..........
while there seems to be a potential risk no conclusive evidence has been presented and if it was the problem some make it out to be there would be more reports of problems.
most do it to avoid the potential risk in case it is real not from well known fact.

Can't get cotton replacements as far as I can tell.

you can when you rebuilt them yourself

Jaysin

ECF Veteran
Dec 12, 2012
Clearwater, FL

I read a post somewhere that talked about the FDA and all that are against ecigs doing and saying everything they can to show that vaping is unsafe but none of these opponents have said one word about silica wicks. Seems to me if they are so unsafe it would be their leading argument. Right?

Also, tanks eliminate this entirely, correct? I just really like the clearo system. Easy and tastes good.

ClippinWings

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 12, 2011
The OC
Unless I'm mistaken the vivi nova like most tanks still use a coil that is wrapped around a silica wick.

Now again, this may be stating the obvious, but it seems people seem to forget it....

Various components of e-cigarettes may potentially pose a concern... but cigarettes WILL kill you... I'll take that trade off any day.