Some advice regarding asthma and ecigarettes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rhia

Feb 5, 2012
United Kingdom
Heya all,

I've been smoking for many years now and have come to the decision that I would like to quit. However, I'm asthmatic and have sensitive skin, I can't even use normal plasters as they cause a skin reaction, so I'm unable to use the nicotine patches as I have a really bad skin reaction to them. I have tried the champix tablets but I had really bad side effects from them and I became very irritable as well. I've also tried the nicotine inhalator along with a new inhaler that my doctor wanted me to try as I was giving up smoking. The inhaler I used made my asthma much worse and when I went to see the asthma nurse she told me that this particular inhaler can make asthmatics worse, after doing some research I found that this inhaler is banned in the US. Anyway the doctor said it was more likely the nicotine inhalator that caused my asthma to worsen but I only used it once, whereas I continued with the inhaler but found that my asthma was worsening each time I used it. So I got really confused as to what set my asthma off.

So the bottom line is now my doctor will not discuss me giving up smoking at the moment until my asthma settles down but I want to desperately give up and have tried everything that's available apart from the ecigarette. My question is will using the ecigarette make my asthma worse and should I avoid it?

Is there an ecigarette that is suitable for asthma sufferers?

I've tried to ask my doctor but he doesn't know much about them and he said that very likely if it has nicotine in then it'll cause the same reaction, but tobacco has nicotine in so I'm really confused. Any help would be much appreciated!

So sorry for the long wall of text and I hope I've made sense!

Dan1911

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 10, 2010
Fort Worth, Texas, United States