Wood Stabilised wood CNC machining

Status
Not open for further replies.

ong.kelvin

Jul 9, 2015
This is my first time sending my design out for machining. I got a call from my machine shop saying my stab wood has cracked and a piece has broken off. The shape of body was machined first and it cracked when a hole for the battery was being machined.
So I decided to drive there with another piece. This time we decided to try drilling the hole for battery first then work the body. It didn't crack! So work continued the next day, machining out the area for the chip and wiring. Get a message from the shop, "bad news" followed by a photo of a hairline crack which wasn't even at the thinnest section. The thinnest area of the wood is 4mm.
Anyone else encountered this? Is stab wood just so brittle or do I have a bad batch of stab wood?

Reactions: Resistance

ong.kelvin

Jul 9, 2015
For the first image(red) it's probable that the grain and gaps in that area were brittle hence the crack.
In the 2nd pic it has no reason to crack. Machine shop has used a slow speed on its spindle to avoid heavy vibrations.

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    89.2 KB · Views: 493
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    109 KB · Views: 486

Fyla

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 10, 2015
Croatia
I think that on first block (red one) wood is not stabilized good. To much open grains and pores. Thats why it cracked.
Also, slow speed of spindle isn't that good solution, that way you tear wood apart instead of cut it. Ofc, tool needs to be really sharp and well balanced, that way there will not be vibrations.
And yes, its better first to drill hole for batts and after shape it outside.
I would suggest to do final external shape with sanding. That way tension to the wood is not big, and you minimize potential cracks

• Agree
Reactions: Resistance

zoiDman

My -0^10 = Nothing at All*
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 16, 2010
So-Cal