• This forum has been archived

If you'd like to post a thread, post it here instead!

View Forum

Starter Dinner

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary Kay

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 3, 2009
West Tampa Fl.
Non veggie person here, but willing to give it a go!
Have you all got some beginner's tips? Something easy ok?
I have a problem with yeast, when I was a baker I found out that I have a sensitivity to it. It took a while for my hands to unswell.
My hubby won't eat too many dinners without a meat base..but I need to sneak a few in to help with out cholesterol. (it's good but I need to keep it that way!)
So go easy on me and suggest something to try for dinner.:)

Mary Kay

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 3, 2009
West Tampa Fl.
I am going to try that..but it's a harder one for a new comer! Besides I thought it was for the holidays! Sorry! I was thinking of maybe easing into it with a breakfast or lunch! Mike is going to have a fit..but oh well..:)

I didn't know hummus was used for anything but a topper on a cracker. Live and learn!

Last edited:

mischiefgrrl

ECF Veteran
Aug 16, 2009
Los Angeles
I made tacos tonight. Morningstar has "crumbles" that are kinda like ground beef. I sauteed that with some olive oil, garlic and pepper sauce, then added some pinto beans. Stuffed it into taco shells with some julienne sliced bell peppers and avocado slices and topped with olives.

Just one word: YUM!

Fairly low on the calorie scale, very filling, low cholesterol and a good amount of fiber. My daughter can't get enough of these tacos.

mischiefgrrl

ECF Veteran
Aug 16, 2009
Los Angeles
Morningstar has excellent faux sausages. Patties and links! They can get a little spendy though so you don't want the faux meats to be too much of your diet. The crumbles come in a pretty decent sized bag so you get more for your money. I find them at Target in the freezer section (oddly enough, next to the frozen meat) and they are usually $2.99 each.