Suddenly coughing after vaping for a few months

Status
Not open for further replies.

MouseUK

Mar 20, 2016
Hey all.

I've been vaping regularly for about 3 months now, generally sticking to 3 or 6mg, high VG (80-90%) juices. My usual method of inhaling is mouth to lung.

I didn't have any issues initially, apart from a bit of wheezing when I inhaled too many times in one session, but since I stopped doing that, it's all been great.

However, in the last few weeks, I've had some problems:

- A clicking noise in the back of my throat when I breathe, whether I've recently been vaping or not. I can't feel it, but I can hear it.
- Occasional tightness in my chest
- And whenever I try to inhale, I end up coughing!

My throat/chest basically feel super sensitive. I've just switched to an old 100% VG juice I had hanging around to see whether it's any issue with the PG, so I'll report back about that, but yeah. Any ideas as to why this has suddenly started? I haven't changed juices, hardware, or anything. Any ideas for fixing it?

Reactions: David Wolf

sofarsogood

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Oct 12, 2014
May be it's not related to vaping or may be you are still adjusting to the experience or may be you are vaping more ml's than you should or there's too much flavoring or not the right flavoring. I've been vaping 17 months. My comfort with vaping now is greater than at 3 months, 6 months, 9 months or even 12 months. To make it a more comfortable experience I reduced the flavor to 1%. I'm strict about holding the line on power and daily ml's. E liquid vapor is reletively benign but it's still more irritation than breathing plain air. In the early weeks vaping made me slightly queasy. I figured that would pass and it did. I had some mouth irritation until I reduced flavor way down. My lungs know that I vape but the effect is trivial compared to smoking. I hoped vaping could be a total indulgence, no need to discipline or deny myself anything. Wrong.

RosaJ

Ultra Member