Throat shutdown whilst vaping, advice please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

sara clay

Aug 18, 2017
hi, I'm new to vaping, been a smoker for 30yrs, yesterday whilst vaping (my second day starting) my throat seemed to shutdown after I inhaled. I mean completely not able to draw breath through my nose or mouth for around a minute. In my panic I began trying to leave my home to get help, that's when my ability to breath returned. This was very scary I thought I was dying, when my partner came home I tried to vape again and the same thing happened sending him into a panic. I don't want to give up trying to vape because I know I'll just carry on smoking. Can anybody suggest what's happening, how I might stop it or has it happened to anyone else? Thank you

Topwater Elvis

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Dec 26, 2012
Texas
You don't give any info to give much of a response.

For a start;
Power & delivery device used?
Resistance of coil or head?
Airflow wide open or restricted?
Pg/Vg ratio of liquids used?
Nic mg/ml?
MTL or DTL inhale?
Brand of e liquid?
Flavor / flavorings?
Do you have any medical conditions / asthma / copd etc...?

Mike McVape

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
I've experienced similar a couple weeks in vaping. For me it was more tight closing down chest asthma attack needing to use inhaler. Going low VG seems to help for me. Currently vaping custom blended 70pg/30vg and another batch started using a couple days ago 60pg/40vg tested my vg tolerance limit.

OTOH I've read of other ppl who had to go high vg... I tried a max vg first and made it worse for me so then went 85pg. Mucho better but very thin vape so adding vg back as I can.

Mike McVape

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Vaping is far better than smoking BUT still putting crap in our lungs! Good chance you are having a allergic asthmatic reaction to some ingredient. All I know to do is try different juices trying very high pg versus very high vg, though could also be the flavoring.

Topwater Elvis