To TC... or not to TC... that is MY question lol

Status
Not open for further replies.

mschnabel

Jun 9, 2014
Missouri
Hey guys and gals, long time reader, first time thread creator here...

I've been vaping on and off for about 3 years, and have quite the history with RDAs... however I just ordered a Kylin RDTA and am going to start experimenting with the revolution of rebuildable tanks. I currently own both a SMOK XCube II, and a SMOK 80w Baby TC device.

I have built numerous coils, from twisted to claptons, but have only ever used Kanthal.

I guess I am asking, what are the benefits of switching to a SS or Titanium style wire and utilizing the Temperature Control these devices offer? I have always had good flavor, good cloud production and an enjoyable vape so I haven't really swayed from what I already was good at. However, I am just feeling like doing something different and thought that I could explore the realm of TC to see if I can further improve my vaping experience.

Thanks for taking the time to read, and in advance for any advice, comments that you guys and gals have for me!
Matt

Reactions: mountaingal

MSK421

ECF Veteran
Apr 17, 2017
Fort Worth, Texas
I move to SS 316l for coil building. It can be used in both TC and power mode. So if you find TC not to your liking for what ever reason no problem. I was also surprised with a cleaner taste. The kanthal wire used before gave myself a metal taste.
Good luck in your adventure!

Last edited:

mschnabel

Jun 9, 2014
Missouri
MSK thank you so much for the input, I probably should have done a little more searching around the forums before posting, but I appreciate the insight!!

I will definitely have to check out some SS 316l wire. How is to work with? Does it feel similar to kanthal as far as the pliability is concerned? I usually build claptons with either 24/22 wrapped in 32/34. If I am hoping to build some claptons, should I double up on the SS to keep the coil consistent?