Tried of the poor quality control on e-cig parts

Status
Not open for further replies.

woolfe99

ECF Veteran
Apr 14, 2010
San Francisco
Sorry but this is a bit of a rant. I've been vaping for 2 years now, continuously. Not had a drag off a cigarette since the day my first e-cig kit came in the mail. Yay me.

However, the most frustrating thing for me right now is the poor quality of these parts. Ego batteries, for example, seem to last an eternity, in terms of battery life. But that damn button spring breaks about 3-4 months in, almost every time. To the trash it goes, another $20 to replace it.

These USB chargers are even worse. They are pieces of crap. Without fail, after a few months I start to have trouble getting the light to go red and have to fiddle with it constantly, before it ultimately will not go red anymore and must be replaced. And they charge like $7 for this thing that has about 25 cents worth of parts in it.

Then there's the atomizers and cartos where about 1 in 10 are DoA. And who cares about return policies and warranties. Who is going to the trouble to send back a $5 atomizer? It isn't worth it and they know it.

Then there's the fact that no atomizer besides genuine Joyes vapes well past about 2-3 days. The Joyes give me about 2 weeks so that is all I can use.

I'm starting to think that this is planned obsolescence. They purposefully make it crappy so that you have to buy a replacement sooner. Personally, I'd be willing to pay more for something that lasts.

End rant.

Last edited:

Malduk

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 2, 2012
Croatia
I'm starting to think that this is planned obsolescence. They purposefully make it crappy so that you have to buy a replacement sooner.

This is a common practice with a huge percentage of electronic devices. And I'm not saying it as a frustrated consumer, but as someone who's on the "other side".

You can always opt for a more expensive gear/mods.

Kemosabe

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Sep 21, 2011
Roe Dylin