Status
Not open for further replies.

onion456

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 30, 2013
Houston, TX
Hello All,

I've been vaping for about 2 months now, and have aquired the scourge known as Vaper's Tongue twice now. Lasts several days, the first time was the worst, i could not taste much of anything, not even most foods. This last time, i can taste foods ok, but most of my juice flavors have gone dead. i can still smell them. The sense of sweetness seems to have been most affected. Both times, I made serious efforts to rehydrate, per everyone's reccommendations, and it definitely does seem to help although progress is slow.

I am just wondering what is known about this phenomenon, my wife is concerned that im going to get mouth cancer or something. Any info out there?

telsie

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 26, 2009
Maryland
You know, this happens to me periodically and I never knew it was a thing until I read your post. Then I did a search of "vaper's tongue" and, wow, apparently it's quite common! All this time, I thought it was some freaky problem that just happened to me :p

I've never had taste buds affected to the point that I couldn't taste food, though. All that happens to me is that I'm periodiclly unable to taste the vapor for like 1-3 days. This happens maybe like once every 4 weeks, something like that. My best guess is that it has to do with the heat of the vapor causing a mild burn which, like any tongue burn, affects the taste buds until it heals.

The reason I think that is because I've been using a Joye 510 for a long time and that produces a pretty warm vapor. I didn't realize just how warm until I recently got a Joye eRoll. That produces a much cooler vapor and my tongue has been a lot happier. I still use my 510, but by switching off between the two devices, it's made a big difference for me.

Rickajho

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 23, 2011
Boston MA