which coil resistance would be best for 100% VG ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angel Eyes

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 17, 2013
Mt. Brook, AL, USA
I use a sigelei V3 telescoping fitted with a Kanger ProTank

the Protank coils come in the following resistances:

1.5 ohm
1.8 ohm
2.2 ohm
2.5 ohm

I vape only 100% VG juices, and have been setting the Sigelei for around 8 watts

need replacement coils, so which of those 4 coil resistances should I buy, and why?

kind of hoping there is an electrical engineer in the house who can explain the pros and cons of higher voltage vs. higher current - since it appears that is my choice!

Trayce

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Mar 28, 2013
Multiversal
Well I'm no electrical engineer but I vape 100% VG and it doesn't matter what the coil resistance is if you have a VV or VV/VW mod as you can adjust the power to find the sweet spot.

The advantage battery-wise of lower-ohms coils is that it takes less power to heat them up to the same degree as a higher ohms coil, all else being equal. So your sweet spot with a lower ohms coil will take less power to achieve, than the same sweet spot reached on a higher ohms coil. (For example you might find 5w is satisfying with a 1.5 ohm coil, and 7w is satisfying with a 2.5 ohm coil.... those are just example powers, YMMV.)

My personal advice, however, would be that if you are really, really happy with what you have been using, just buy more of the same. If you want to try lower ohms, go ahead.

When your heads are no longer usable, throw them in a jar. Later if you decide to rebuild them you can rebuild them to any ohms you want, regardless of how they came. The resistance is only dependent on the wire gauge and number of wraps.... more wraps = more resistance which = higher ohms which requires more power.

HTH