Which is a better choice for 11-15A vaping?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kemosabe

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Sep 21, 2011
Roe Dylin
I prefer Samsung batteries and for a while, used 25R cells. Then when the 30Q came out, I went all 30Q.

I was vaping under 15A, and I was enjoying the extra mAh.

But now I'm encroaching on the "limit" (I know 30Q can handle more than 15A safely). I'm a veteran vaper and know a lot about safety- my question is more along the run-time lines.

Will a 3000 mAh battery (30Q) last me any longer than a 2500 mAh (25R5) when I'm running close to or at 15A?

I'm trying to balance mAh and amp limit and wondering at what point (amp level) is the 30Q no longer beneficial with its extra mAh, and what point the 25R5 would be the better choice.

Mooch and the rest of the gurus, I'd love to hear your feedback.

vape on.

Joergl100

Oct 15, 2016
Germany, Lake Constance
That depends on the type of mod you are vaping! If it is a mech mod, the amps and the power at the coil will get lower by and by, because the voltage gets lower and lower at the same resistance. If you have a regulated device, the amps will rise by and by, because the device keeps the wattage/voltage you have chosen.

DaveP

PV Master & Musician
ECF Veteran
May 22, 2010
Central GA
FWIW, I'm enjoying the MAH feature on my Xtar VC4 charger. If you discharge a new cell down to 3.2V it will give you a MAH rating very close to what the battery is rated for. The MAH feature on the VC4 just calculates the current necessary to reach full charge, so it will vary with a boost charge as opposed to a charge after mod cutoff, but it's a comparative reading that shows battery condition between similarly discharged cells.

That's useful for comparing batteries over time to determine which are beginning to lose capacity and vape time and could be used to compare new cells after purchase. Just run them down to 3.2v and record the MAH rating after charging.